2Blade Productions

Thread: Tips for videos

Tips for videos

G'day guys, I'm going on a hunt in October and want to try out my sons GoPro 3 to video what I can. I'm completely new to this so I'm hoping some of the more experienced videographers can throw a few pointers my way?
    He has underwater housing (useful if it rains I guess?) and a chest strap and cap strap for a head mount.
    Thoughts? Tips? Suggestions for what works.
    I'm heading to Jackal's Hide. It's hilly country with mostly tree cover where I'll be hunting.
    I have a little point n shoot camera that can also do video but I figured GoPro is made for the job so will most likely be a better option.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Paul
    Hi Paul, I have a Hero 2 and thought I'd start off the replies with a couple of tips. (Bear in mind that the Gopro 3 might be better at some things than my 2)

Firstly, Gopro audio is known to be pretty tinny and a bit low quality, particularly when contained in the underwater housing. So I would plan for music and voiceovers on your whatever you publish - don't assume the audio that's recorded will be usable.

Secondly, I'd suggest that you do a few test clips in the different resolutions and frame rates that are available to you, just to understand what the end product will look like. The higher the res and frame rates, the faster you'll chew up memory on the card. Also check the perspective of the shot at the different settings- the Gopro lens seems quite wide angled, so detail at certain distances might not be what you expect compared to looking at it with the naked eye.

My 2 cents. Now over to the fair-dinkum videographers on this forum.....
    I`ve used gopros quite a bit, mostly filming fishing and under water stuff, they are really good but have their limitations.

use the skeleton door on the housing, thats the one with slits in it. Audio is quite good for close stuff.