Apex Archery
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Archery coaching?

I've been shooting for a couple of years now and am grouping reasonably well. Well, well enough that I feel I could ethically put a dart in an animal out to 20ish meters. I still feel as though there is huge scope for improvement.

So pretty much...

I'm interested in looking for a coach and I'm curious if anyone has experience with coaches, or thoughts on it. A big consideration for me is that i want to bow hunt and I'm a mostly instinctive shot. Most clubs around me are target clubs.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

Matt
    Hi Matt - may help if you indicate where you're located.
    2014 PSE DNA SP - 65#
    2015 PSE Full Throttle - 64#
    Martin Mamba Recurve - 50#
    Bear Kodiak Magnum 50th Anniversary #55
    Ah true Johnno. I'm in Victoria, most frequently Melbourne. Asides from looking for a coach I'm also keen to hear positive/negative experiences from trad/instinctive/bowhunters than have had coaching.

Archery coaching?

Eliza archery or whatever in melb is always advertising coaching.
    Dont know anyone who has actually tried them tho.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
    -= The Matter is Void =-
    My only thoughts on coaching is that you need a Trad shooter to coach you in shooting a trad bow for hunting.
    I dont think I have ever shot an animal standing straight up with a straight bow as the coaches will try to teach you.
    I have shot more kneeling..never seen that in the coaching books.
    Cheers KIM
    Quote Originally Posted by Kimall View Post
    My only thoughts on coaching is that you need a Trad shooter to coach you in shooting a trad bow for hunting.
    I dont think I have ever shot an animal standing straight up with a straight bow as the coaches will try to teach you.
    I have shot more kneeling..never seen that in the coaching books.
    Cheers KIM
    That's a reason I'm quite apprehensive about approaching target clubs.

Chers